Goodies… Healthy Mac n’ Cheese

Macaroni Cheese

I am a big fan of Macaroni Cheese – it is one of my favourite winter comfort foods (right up there with mashed potato). However, recently while I was camping I made the mistake of trying one of the boxed versions of this dish. It was absolutely disgusting… it had a horrible chemical aftertaste, was a very unappetizing almost fluorescent orange colour and was inedible. Needless to say I did not finish it.

In an effort to resurrect my happy memories of Mac Cheese I thought I would have a go at making it from scratch (not when I was camping) and try some substitutions in an effort to obtain some nutritional value from the dish. I know there are those who don’t use any processed ingredients at all and I can only applaud these people but I do too many other things to make everything I consume from scratch so this recipe is a compromise. Each little step can only help. I must say the Mac Cheese was pretty yummy and certainly well received by the girls.

Ingredients
2 cups almond milk
3 whisked eggs
3 cups grated cheese (I like Nimbin natural)
4 chopped and cooked bacon rashes ( I use an Australian free range brand)
250g cooked vegetable rice pasta spirals (I used Orgran gluten free)
2 tsp Dijon mustard

Method
Preheat oven to 200 degrees.
Combine almond milk, eggs, bacon, 2 cups cheese, mustard, salt and pepper and mix well. Add to cooked pasta then spoon into a dish and sprinkle top with the extra cup of cheese.
Bake for 30 minutes or so, until the top is golden.

Leave a Reply

